RSS

Raising Fathers With A Mentoring Heart For A New Generation

18 Sep

fatherless-300x199And so it was, when they had crossed over, that Elijah said to Elisha, “Ask! What may I do for you, before I am taken away from you? ”Elisha said, “Please let a double portion of your spirit be upon me.” 2 Kings 2:9 (emphasis mine)

I like to believe that all fathers have a mentoring heart, but when we look at today’s reality, especially here in America, sadly enough—I must say this is not the case. The American family, when placed under the lens of “dysfunctional” will reflect a high degree of a “dysfunctionally” dysfunctional family. As a result we have a society that wonders around looking for a sense of approval, identity and more than anything to fulfill the vacuum of the heart due to the absence of a father in the home. I think we all know the dreadful consequences of faithlessness. Let me stop right here and cite the good news. In the Scriptures there is a promise from Father God that He will revert the present situation.

“And he will turn the hearts of the fathers to the children, and the hearts of the children to their fathers, lest I come and strike the earth with a curse.” Malachi.4:6 

I have firsthand experience with what it is to grow up with an absentee father. My father, not by choice but of necessity, due to the kind of work he did, was only home one Saturday of every month for most of my formative years. I remember he used to take me for a haircut sometimes when he was home. This is one of the closest memories of a father-son relationship I have with him. There were others. But this is the one I remember the most. My memory bank does not have a “big-file” stored away on my relationship with him. I loved him! He was a great provider and sacrificed his life so we could have a roof over our heads, but in the process; he also sacrificed a relationship I would have loved to have had with him.

Don’t get me wrong, I thank God for the father I had. I honor him for who he was and for teaching me to be a responsible and dedicated man ad to serve my family; however, I had to learn, on my own, how to be a father to my four kids the best way I knew how. If it wasn’t because of Father God I would have miserably failed this task. I know I am not alone in this category, perhaps you went through similar or worst circumstances.

The truth is, we cannot afford to raise the upcoming generation without the “mentoring heart” of “true fathers”. A good father, natural or spiritual, wants to see their children prosper. He longs to see them doing greater things than they did. There is a desperate need for fathers with a mentoring heart and vision for the 21st century generation. There is too much at stake to leave them wandering around without the necessary instructions, guidance and mentorship needed to become our legacy that successfully leads this changing world!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2013 in Mentoring Winners

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
